A bunch more of the Facebook Phishing Emails

12/30/09

Permalink 01:42:23 pm, by dave Email , 309 words, 2702 views   English (US)
Categories: Security, Email Scams, Phishing

A bunch more of the Facebook Phishing Emails

I received a number of these messages across various email account that I have. All the messages have the same basic format.

Here is the subject of this scam email:

new login system

This email was supposedly sent by:

Facebook

Here is the body of the email:

[More:]

facebook
Dear Facebook user,
In an effort to make your online experience safer and more enjoyable, Facebook will be implementing a new login system that will affect all Facebook users. These changes will offer new features and increased account security.
Before you are able to use the new login system, you will be required to update your account.
Click here <h__p://www.facebook.com.pitjiilil.com.pl/usersdirectory/LoginFacebook.php?ref=88971191867716309437035916558581658626740862533180549753428935716410215849699&email=some_email_address@davemoats.com> to update your account online now.
If you have any questions, reference our New User Guide.
Thanks,
The Facebook Team
Update your Facebook account
Update <h__p://www.facebook.com.pitjiilil.com.pl/usersdirectory/LoginFacebook.php?ref=88971191867716309437035916558581658626740862533180549753428935716410215849699&email=some_email_address@davemoats.com>
This message was intended for some_email_address@davemoats.com.
Facebook's offices are located at 1601 S. California Ave., Palo Alto, CA 94304.

That main difference is the actual site domain name. Here are the domain names that were used in the emails I received:

www.facebook.com.pioateeiili.com
www.facebook.com.hutijidlitl.com
www.facebook.com.hutdjillitl.com
www.facebook.com.hutijillitl.com
www.facebook.com.hutijdllitl.net
www.facebook.com.pinoteeiili.net
www.facebook.com.ponateeiili.net
www.facebook.com.hutijdllitl.com
www.facebook.com.hutijillitl.com
www.facebook.com.hdtijillitl.net
www.facebook.com.pioateeiili.com
www.facebook.com.pitjoilil.com.pl
www.facebook.com.potjiilil.com.pl
www.facebook.com.pitjiilil.com.pl

If you receive an email like this, don't respond to it, or follow any links. JUST DELETE IT
Dave



Did you like this post? If so, Share it!  del.icio.us digg reddit slashdot this article Facebook Twitter MySpace Email



Pingbacks:

No Pingbacks for this post yet...

This post has 9 feedbacks awaiting moderation...

IS Security

Thoughts, ideas, and concerns about Information security.

Search

Follow Me:

Misc

Who's Online?

  • Guest Users: 6

powered by b2evolution free blog software